Home < Institution Members
● Institute of Archeology of Academy of Sciences, Republic of Uzbekistan
The Republic of Uzbekistan gained independence in 1991 that was the most important event in life of the country, which opened a new stage in its historical development. In accordance with the 1992 Constitution, with a strong commitment to the provisions and conclusions contained in writings and speeches of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan, Academician Uzbekistan Islam Karimov, the country wages the course of development on the basis of full-scale consolidation of its sovereignty and qualitative renewal of all spheres of political, economic, social, cultural and spiritual life of the people.

Active role in addressing these and other important tasks is to play the Academy of Sciences of Uzbekistan, established in November 1943. Academy of Sciences of Uzbekistan has a long history, the attainments creditable to the Academy include hundreds of major achievements in various fields of science. In scientific institutions of the Academy of Sciences, a large group of prominent scientists is working, whose names are known far beyond the borders of Uzbekistan. Based on the objectives set by the state and the significance of science, Academy of Sciences elaborates most important fundamental and applied programs, innovative projects, and participates in in decision-making on defining and development of priority trends of science, determines organizational and structural issues of its subordinate agencies.

Academy of Sciences of Uzbekistan performs the following tasks:

- Pursues basic and applied research in the field of natural, technical, medical, social and human sciences, thereby contributing to the economic, social and spiritual development of society;

- ensures implementation of the state policy in the field of science;

- analyses and examines current problems of development of nature, society and man, development of the relations among nations and national cultures, countries and peoples, education and intellectual and moral values;

- realizes development and practical implementation of new techniques and modern technologies;

- promotes the development of science-intensive industries, exploring the latest advances in science and technology and supports the wide use of them;

- provides training of highly qualified scientific personnel, the necessary conditions for productive creative activities of Uzbek scientists;

- promote effective integration of science, education and industry;

- provides the organization and co-operation with the academies, universities, research institutions, foundations, and other related organizations in foreign countries, as well as with international scientific organizations.

The highest governing body of the Academy of Sciences is the General Assembly, which includes in its membership the full members (Academicians) and Directors of scientific-research institutions of the Uzbek Academy of Sciences. The General Assembly is convened at least once per year. In between the activities of the General Assemblies, the Hayat (Presidium) carries out administration and management of the Academy. The structure of the Hayat consists of the President of the AS RUz, General Scientific Secretary, Vice Presidents as per science directions, and the chairmen of the Regional Departments of the Academy of Sciences of Uzbekistan. Under the Statute, the candidacy of President of the Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Uzbekistan is submitted to the General Assembly of the Academy of Sciences on behalf of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan and the President of the Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Uzbekistan shall be elected from among the members of the Academy of Sciences on the majority-vote-basis of the General Assembly by open vote.

The Academy of Sciences consists of 28 research institutions and 4 State museums which are organized into three organizational complex according to scientific areas:

physical and mathematical sciences and engineering;

chemical and biological sciences and earth sciences;

social and human sciences; and

two Regional Departments - Karakalpak Departmentand Khorezm Mamun Academy.

Currently, the Academy of Sciences of Uzbekistan accounts for more than 4793 scientific staff members, including over 2200 scientific workers, 73 Academicians, 281 Doctors and 745 candidates of Science.

To date, Academics and other leading scientists of the Academy of Sciences conduct their activities in various fields of science and education. Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Uzbekistan is actively involved in international cooperation, scientific contacts are established and joint research is conducted with research organizations, scientific societies, institutions and universities of more than 40 countries of the world.

Bilateral agreements on cooperation were concluded with the Royal Society of Great Britain, Russian Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, National Academy of Sciences of Belorussia, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Mongolian Academy of Sciences, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology of Egypt, and the academies of sciences of other countries. Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Uzbekistan is one of the founders of the International Association of Academies of Sciences (MAAN or IAAS), the membership of which includes the national academies of 15 countries. In order to enhance the scientific and technical cooperation, to introduce in the process the latest technologies created by Uzbek scientists, as well as to realize practical application of research and development projects, the Academy of Sciences established a close cooperation with such well-known foreign firms and companies as "Telecom" (Malaysia), "Sandoz-Agro" ( Switzerland), "Latoksan" (France), "EN Technology Incorporation" (Korea), "Chemotrade GmbH" (Germany) and others. Scientific institutions of AS RUz concluded 26 international agreements on bilateral scientific and scientific-technical cooperation.

Contact person: Bokijon Matbabayv (bokijon@mail.ru)




Claudio Zanier

Dagmar Schaefer

Dominique Cardon

Jianjun Mei

Maria Menshikova

Mariah Waworuntu